Releases

NOT FOR PUBLICATION: ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE VOLKSWAGEN UK PRESS OFFICES

Mar 25, 2020

Dear colleague,

Following the Prime Minister’s announcement this week regarding non-essential travel, the Volkswagen UK Press Offices (Volkswagen UK Press Office and Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles UK Press Office) are closing temporarily press fleet operations with immediate effect.

This measure is to ensure we are doing all we can to support the collective national and global fight against the COVID-19 virus. In ceasing our press vehicle movements, we are helping to protect our employees and press fleet operatives, as well as our media colleagues.

If you have a vehicle currently on loan it will remain with you until further notice. Those media who do not wish to keep a press car for a prolonged period, due to parking permits, cost or other exceptional reasons, should make contact with the relevant Press Office to discuss options.

If you have a booking for the next few weeks, this will be postponed until further notice. You will be contacted with more details.

We fully appreciate just how difficult it currently is for all concerned. The Volkswagen Press Offices remain open in the meantime, albeit with all team members working from home. Contact details are below. Without events and press fleet cars we are aware that many media colleagues will be finding it much harder to fill pages. We are currently looking at what other stories we can highlight. And of course if editors have ideas for creative features which we can assist with and can be activated safely from our home offices, we would love to hear them.

For more resource and information, please visit www.vwpress.co.uk and www.volkswagen-newsroom.com.

From all at Volkswagen UK, we hope you stay safe and well during this time. See you soon.

Contacts

Mike Orford, Head of Press and Public Relations
T: 01908 601376 M: 07467 442062 E: mike.orford@volkswagen.co.uk

Tom Lynch, Product Affairs Manager
T: 01908 601106 M: 07768 817949 E: tom.lynch@volkswagen.co.uk

Nicki Divey, Press Fleet Manager
T: 01908 601874 M: 07802 248310 E: nicki.divey@volkswagen.co.uk

Allison Eden, Media Relations Manager
T: 01908 601316 M: 07860 368313 E: allison.eden@volkswagen.co.uk

Louise Ray, Media Relations Manager
T: 01908 601431 M: 07957 506775 E: louise.ray@volkswagen.co.uk

Grant McPherson, Media Relations Officer
T: 01908 601186 E: grant.mcpherson@volkswagen.co.uk

Jimi Beckwith, Press Officer
T: 01908 548083 M: 07776 332195 E: jimi.beckwith@volkswagen.co.uk

Michelle Betty, Press Fleet Specialist
T: 01908 548598 M: 07799 658852 E: michelle.betty@volkswagen.co.uk

Kate Thompson, Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles Head of Press and PR
T: 01908 601478 M: 07713 265562 E: kate.thompson@vwcv.co.uk

Amy Allen, Product Affairs Manager, Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles
M: 07983 535116 E: amy.allen@vwcv.co.uk

Oliver Larkin, Head of Group Corporate and Public Relations
T: 01908 548340 M: 07767 418946 E: oliver.larkin1@vwg.co.uk

About the Volkswagen brand:
The Volkswagen Passenger Cars brand is present in more than 150 markets throughout the world and produces vehicles at over 50 locations in 14 countries. In 2018, Volkswagen delivered 6,2 million vehicles including bestselling models such as the Golf, Tiguan, Jetta or Passat. Currently, 195,878 people work for Volkswagen across the globe. The brand also has over 10,000 dealerships with 86,000 employees. Volkswagen is forging ahead consistently with the further development of automobile production. E-mobility, smart mobility and the digital transformation of the brand are the key strategic topics for the future.

(ends)

Press contact
Volkswagen (UK) Press Team

Mike Orford 07467 442062
Tom Lynch 07768 817949
Jimi Beckwith 07776 332195

Volkswagen Press and PR
Volkswagen (UK)
Yeomans Drive
Blakelands
Milton Keynes
MK14 5AN

Telephone 01908 601187
www.vwpress.co.uk 
Twitter: @VWUKNews

11296 MO/jb